Results From Whynot

By: Nick Adam Email
By: Nick Adam Email

Bub McCool of Vickburg, MS picked up his fourth Mississippi State
Championship Challenge Series win of the season in an action packed
night of racing Saturday night at Whynot Motorsports Park.

McCool started fourth, and with 19 laps to go muscled his way into the
lead passing David Beazeale of Four Corners, MS. Breazeale didn't go
down without a fight as the two battled it out all the way to the
finish. Jason Cliburn of Star finished third, MSCCS points leader David
Ashley finished fourth with Chad Thrash of Meridian fifth.

Before tonights race, McCool was 6th in the MSCCS points chase. "We
needed this one" McCool said in victory lane.

Whynot has not made it official yet, but Chris McElhenny of Decatur, MS
set a new track record during qualifying over 36 Super Late Models with
a 12.570.

In other action, Shay Knight found his groove winning the Open Wheel
Modified feature, holding off a four way battle for the lead at the
finish line over Jason Brock second, Brian Brock third and Greg
Hollingsworth fourth.

In the Heavy Metal Street Stock feature Jody Walters and David James
tangled in turn four battling for the lead late in the race, giving the
lead and the win to Kyle Rutledge. James finished second with Walters

Jennifer Shelton showed the way once again winning the Mini Stock
feature over Bill Bunyard and Brian Quinn.

Jason Wittington won the Stinger feature race over Robie Dearing and
Caleb Langford. Teney Stowell flipped her car on the front straightaway
during the stinger feature, but was not injured.

Danna Williams and John Mercer won the 2 man Cruiser feature.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 20647164 -
Gray Television, Inc.