Team Hawai'i Gets it Done

By: Nick Adam Email
By: Nick Adam Email

SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (AP) -- Hawaii has won the Little League World Series, the fourth straight championship for the United States.
Tanner Tokunaga and Iolana Akau homered Sunday to lead the pint-sized players from Waipahu, Hawaii, in a 12-3 win over Matamoros, Mexico, for the title.
Hawaii also took advantage of several Mexico miscues, scoring runs off Mexico errors and a bases-loaded walk. Two other runs came in on passed balls.
Caleb Duhay struck out seven in five-plus innings for the win. Jesus Sauceda homered for Mexico, and Eduardo Rodriguez had a two-run single.
A team from Hawaii also won a Little League title in 2005.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 27339414 -
Gray Television, Inc.