SEC Coaches Hand out Honors

By: Nick Adam Email
By: Nick Adam Email

Divisional Champions Alabama and Florida have most selections

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- SEC Western Division Champion Alabama had a league-high 10 representatives on the 2008 All-Southeastern Conference Coaches’ Football Team, while SEC Champion Florida had nine, the league office announced on Tuesday. Both Alabama and Florida had five members each on the first team.

Ten of the 12 SEC schools had a member on the first-team All-SEC squad. Georgia, Kentucky and LSU had three players on the first team with Ole Miss, South Carolina and Tennessee with two each.

Georgia had six total representatives on the annual list. Alabama had a league-high five players on the second unit followed by Arkansas and Florida with four. Georgia and Ole Miss had three each.

Every SEC squad had at least two players represented on the first and second teams.

There were only two unanimous selections to this year’s All-SEC squad - Georgia running back Knowshon Moreno and Tennessee defensive back Eric Berry. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players, thus a unanimous selection earns 11 of 12 first-team votes.

The All-SEC squad had nine first-team seniors (only two on defense) and 18 underclassmen, including 14 juniors and four sophomores and one freshman. There were no freshmen on the first team. Wide receivers Julio Jones of Alabama and A.J. Green of Georgia were both recognized on the second team and were the only freshmen listed. Alabama junior Javier Arenas made the team twice - once as a second-team return specialist and once as a second-team defensive back.

The SEC individual award winners will be released on Wednesday and the SEC All-Freshman Team will be announced on Thursday.

Notable Selections
1st Team Offense
OL - Andre Smith (Alabama)
OL - Michael Oher (Ole Miss)
OL - Antoine Caldwell (Alabama)

2nd Team Offense
OL - John Jerry (Ole Miss)
OL - Mike Johnson (Alabama)
WR - Julio Jones (Alabama)
RB - Glen Coffee (Alabama)

1st Team Defense
DL - Peria Jerry (Ole Miss)
DL - Terrence Cody (Alabama)
DL - Antonio Coleman (Auburn)
LB - Rolando McClain (Alabama)
DB - Rashad Johnson (Alabama)

2nd Team Defense
DL - Greg Hardy (Ole Miss)
DL - Sen'Derrick Marks (Auburn)
LB - Dominic Douglass (Miss. State)
DB - Javier Arenas (Alabama)
DB - Derek Pegues (Miss. State)

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 35819104 -
Gray Television, Inc.