Results from Whynot

By: Whynot Motorsports Park Email
By: Whynot Motorsports Park Email

Larry Murphy of Meridian won the 2009 season opener in the NeSmith Chevrolet weekly racing series Late Model division Saturday night at Whynot Motorsports Park.

The only driver that could challenge Murphy throughout the feature event was Wiley Williams of Stonewall. The two drivers battled side by side with eight laps to go, but coming into lap traffic, the two made contact causing Williams to spin and sending him to the rear of the field.

Jamie Smith of Purvis started sixth in the field and finished second.
Cliff Williams started eighth and finished third.

In other action Tim Rutledge won the Open Wheel Modified feature from his eighth starting position taking the lead after the first three laps.
Randy King of Meridian finished second with Kyle Rutledge third.

The 2008 track champion "Mr. Whynot" Kyle Rutledge picked up where he left off last season passing Meridian's David James for the lead with three laps to go winning the Street Stock feature. James finished second with Artis Bunyard third.

Jennifer Shelton of Toomsuba lead the entire feature winning the Mini Stock feature. Tony Coffman of Florence finished second with Bill Bunyard of Toomsuba third.

Robi Dearing of Meridian won the Stinger feature with Tim Dees of Meridian second and Shane Bounds of Lumberton third.

Casey Campbell and Michael Harris of Quitman won the two man Cruisers feature.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 40932677 -
Gray Television, Inc.