Howell Finalists Announced

Todd Abernethy of Ole Miss, Mississippi State's Jamont Gordon and Jackson State's Trey Johnsona re the finalists for this year's Howell Award, given annually to the state's top college basketball player.

Johnson was the nation's second-leading scorer with just over 27 points per game. He helped lead the Tigers to their first NCAA Tournament in six years and is expected to be taken in the NBA draft.

Abernethy led the SEC in assists and was 19th nationally. He led the Rebels to their first winning season in five years and a co-championship in the SEC West Division with rival Mississippi State.

Gordon was the only player in the nation averaging more than 16 points, seven rebounds and five assists per game.

The Howell winner will be announced next Monday night at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame in Jackson.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 6601682 -
Gray Television, Inc.