Johnson Wins Howell Trophy

Jackson State's Trey Johnson was named the winner of the Howell Trophy Monday night.
The award is given to Mississippi's top men's college basketball player.
Johnson capped a dream season during the ceremony at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.
Johnson, a finalist for the award last year, beat out Mississippi State's Jamont Gordon and Todd Abernethy of Ole Miss.
He's expected to be taken in this year's NBA draft and catching the attention of scouts.
Johnson was the nation's second leading scorer and helped lead Jackson State to the SWAC Championship and a berth in the NCAA Tournament.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 6718372 -
Gray Television, Inc.