7 SEC Women's Teams Make NCAA Tournament

By: SEC Media Relations
By: SEC Media Relations

The 2014 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament bracket was announced on Monday night, and eight teams from the Southeastern Conference are included in the field of 64, including two number one seeds in Tennessee and South Carolina.

The Lady Vols (27-5) are fresh off a league championship after defeating Kentucky in the SEC Women's Basketball Tournament final last week. Tennessee is making its record 33rd appearance in the NCAA Tournament, and it will be the 22nd time that the Lady Vols have earned a No. 1 seed. UT will open play in the Louisville bracket this Saturday, March 22nd, againt sixteenth seed Northwestern State.

South Carolina (27-4) also garnered a No. 1 seed, as the Gamecocks enter as the top seed in the Stanford Bracket. This year marks the 11th time South Carolina has earned a bid in the tournament, but it's the first time the Gamecocks have garnered a No. 1 seed. USC will open play on Sunday, March 23rd, against No. 16 seed Cal State Northridge.

Vanderbilt will be making its 27th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and its 15th consecutive appearance overall as an eight-seed in the Notre Dame Bracket. The Commodores (18-12) open up with No. 8 Arizona on Saturday.

The Wildcats (24-8) will be a No. 3 seed in the Notre Dame bracket, and are set to open play on Saturday against No. 14 seed Wright State in Lexington. Georgia (20-11) will open play on Sunday as an eight-seed in the Lincoln bracket. The Bulldogs will face-off with No. 9 Saint Joseph's.

The Aggies of Texas A&M (24-8) earned themselves a No. 3 seed in the Lincoln bracket, and will open up against 14-seed North Dakota from the friendly confines of College Station on Sunday. LSU (19-12) finds itself in the Louisville bracket as a No. 7 seed, and the Tigers will face Georgia Tech on Sunday in their first game of the tourney.

Finally, the Florida Gators (19-12) will open play as a No. 11 seed against Dayton on Sunday afternoon, completing the slate for the SEC. Find the full schedule of opening round games for the league below.

Saturday, March 22
1 Tennessee vs. 16 Northwestern State (Knoxville, Tenn.) 4 pm ET
8 Vanderbilt vs. 9 Arizona State (Toledo, Ohio) 11 am ET
3 Kentucky vs. 14 Wright State (Lexington, Ky.) 11 am ET

Sunday, March 23
8 Georgia vs. 9 Saint Joseph’s (Storrs, Conn.) 5:30 pm ET
3 Texas A&M vs. 14 North Dakota (College Station, Texas) 7 pm CT
7 LSU vs. 10 Georgia Tech (Baton Rouge, La.) 11:30 am CT
1 South Carolina vs. 16 CS Northridge (Seattle, Wash.) 2:30 pm PT
6 Dayton vs. 11 Florida (University Park, Pa.) 3 pm ET

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 250709341 - wtok.com/a?a=250709341
Gray Television, Inc.