SEC Coaches Announce Preseason Team

The LSU Tigers and Arkansas Razorbacks led all teams with 12 players selected to the SEC Coaches preseason football team.

This year's first, second and third teams were announced Thursday. Each school had at least one player selected to the first team with LSU leading the way with five.

Junior tailback Darren McFadden of Arkansas was named the preseason player of the year by the coaches. He's expected to also be a leading candidate for this year's Heisman Trophy award.

Ole Miss placed two on the first team offense, lineman Michael Oher and running back Benjarvus Green-Ellis.

Derek Pegues of Mississippi, Alabama's Simeon Castille and Auburn's Quentin Groves were on the first team defense.

Titus Brown of Mississippi State takes second team honors along with Jonathan Wilhite of Auburn and the Alabama trio of Prince Hall, Andre Smith and Antoine Caldwell.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8608617 -
Gray Television, Inc.