Ambrose Wins Pole At Michigan

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

BROOKLYN, Mich. (AP) -- Marcos Ambrose has won the Sprint Cup
pole at Michigan International Speedway with a speed of 203.241 mph
Saturday -- the first time in a quarter-century the 200 mph mark was
broken during qualifying on NASCAR's top circuit.
Nineteen drivers surpassed 200 mph Saturday on the newly paved
surface at MIS, and 40 broke the previous track record of 194.232,
set by Ryan Newman in 2005. Speeds have been soaring since
Thursday's test sessions, and NASCAR decided to alter the left-side
tires for Sunday's race, but that didn't affect qualifying.
The last pole winner to break 200 mph in this series was Bill
Elliott in 1987 at Talladega. This is Ambrose's first Sprint Cup
pole, and he posted the 11th-fastest pole-winning speed in series

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 159306435 -
Gray Television, Inc.