Five Players up For Ferriss Award

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) -- Five players are finalists for the C Spire Ferriss Trophy, an award that goes to the top college baseball player in Mississippi.

Delta State's pitcher John Branstetter, Mississippi catcher Stuart Turner, Southern Miss pitcher Andrew Pierce, Mississippi State outfielder/designated hitter Hunter Renfroe and Ole Miss pitcher Bobby Wahl are finalists for the award.

The Ferriss Trophy is voted on by a 25-member panel that includes college coaches, major league scouts and a media member.

The trophy is named after longtime Delta State head coach Dave "Boo" Ferriss, who played with the Boston Red Sox.

The winner will be announced on May 20 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.

AP-WF-05-14-13 1403GMT

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 207397061 -
Gray Television, Inc.