Heisman Trophy Will be Handed out Tonight

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Florida State quarterback Jameis (JAYM'-ihs) Winston is the favorite to be named winner of the Heisman Trophy this evening. The freshman led the Seminoles to a perfect record and a spot in the BCS championship game against Auburn. His road to the Heisman was cleared last week when prosecutors in Tallahassee, Fla., did not file charges of sexual assault against Winston. About a month ago, a year-old sexual assault complaint against him made by a female Florida State student was given by police to the state attorney's office for a full investigation.

The other finalists are reigning Heisman winner Johnny Manziel (man-ZEHL') of Texas A&M, Northern Illinois' Jordan Lynch, Alabama's AJ McCarron, Auburn's Tre Mason and Boston College's Andre Williams. Manziel is in a unique position in that as a former Heisman winner he was able to vote this year. He says he did not vote for himself in either first or second place.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 235881401 - wtok.com/a?a=235881401
Gray Television, Inc.