MCC Golf Claims Fourth Place and Individual National Championship

By: Meridian Community College
By: Meridian Community College

The Meridian Community College golf team closed out the 2012 season with a fourth place finish at the NJCAA Division I National Golf Tournament at Sand Creek Station Golf Course in Newton, KS.

"We had a great season and we are a little disappointed in our finish," said MCC head coach Clinton Hales. "We had seven wins in 11 tournaments this season and we had a lot of bright moments this season."

The Eagles fired a team score of 318 (30 over par) in the final round, but MCC was able to claim an individual national championship. Sophomore Jake Stirling scored a final round score of 71 (1 under par) to secure the individual national championship by one stroke over Jon Paul Blampied of Indian Hills Community College.

The individual national championship for Stirling marks the second time in the past three seasons that a member of the MCC golf team has won an individual national title. Brandt Garron secured the first ever individual golf national championship for Meridian Community College in 2010. Stirling was presented the 2012 Arnold Palmer Award for winning the individual national title.

"We are very proud of him (Stirling) and this speaks volumes of our program," added Hales. "He played a great tournament and played a fantastic back nine today."

Stirling wrapped up the tournament championship by collecting three birdies in the final five holes on the back nine. Alex Grannon from MCC also enjoyed a strong finish for the Eagles by finishing tied for 24th.

Grannon had the shot of the tournament by securing a hole-in-one on the seventh hole of the course. Grannon also secured an eagle on the front nine and ended his final round with a 77.

Former Lamar star Easton Key closed out his career at Meridian Community College by firing a final round score of 87 to finish tied for 37th. Dylan Brown ended the tournament tied for 73rd with a final round of 83, while T.J. Morgan finished tied for 80th with a final round 88.

Indian Hills Community College won the team national championship after firing a team score of 303 (15 over par) to finish seven strokes ahead of Western Texas Community.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 152184965 -
Gray Television, Inc.