SEC Sends 11 to NCAA Softball Tournament

By: SEC Media Relations
By: SEC Media Relations

The NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced its NCAA Championship bracket Sunday and the Southeastern Conference once again will be sending a league-record 11 teams to the tournament. The SEC also grabbed six national seeds, as SEC regular season champion Alabama (45-11) earned the national No. 2 seed and SEC Champion Georgia (45-12) earned the No. 4 seed. The Florida Gators (45-11) are the No. 5 national seed, while the Tennessee Lady Vols (42-10) are the No. 10 seed. Kentucky (44-15) is the No. 14 seed, and Missouri (41-16) earned the No. 15 seed.

In addition, Auburn (39-17-1) makes its 10th appearance in the NCAA Championship with a spot in the Minneapolis Regional, while South Carolina (35-20) opens up tournament play in the Tallahassee Regional. LSU (35-22) will play in the Tucson Regional, and Mississippi State (38-19) opens up tournament play at the Lafayette Regional. Texas A&M marks its 25th NCAA appearance when the Aggies play in the Norman Regional.

The SEC led all leagues with 11 teams selected to the championship tournament. The Big Ten and Pacific-12 Conferences each placed five teams in the championship tournament, respectively.

Regional play begins May 15-18, followed by the Super Regionals on May 22-25. The Women’s College World Series is May 29-June 4 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium - OGE Energy Field. Select Regional, all Super Regional sites and all 15-17 games of this year’s WCWS games will be broadcasted on the ESPN family of networks (ESPN, ESPN2 and/or ESPNU).

Since 1997, the SEC has had six teams advance to the Women’s College World Series: Alabama (‘00, ‘03, ‘05, ‘06, ‘08, ‘09, ‘11, ‘12), Florida (‘08, ‘09, ‘10, ‘11, ‘13), Georgia (‘09, ‘10), LSU (‘01, ’04, ‘12), South Carolina (‘07) and Tennessee (‘05, ‘06, ‘07, ’10, ’12, ‘13). Alabama claimed the first national championship in SEC history when it downed Oklahoma, 5-4, on June 7, 2012.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 258928481 -
Gray Television, Inc.