Three Former MSU Players Win Super Bowl Rings

By: MSU Media Relations
By: MSU Media Relations

Three former Mississippi State Bulldog football standouts – linebacker K.J. Wright, wide receiver Arceto Clark and defensive tackle Dewayne Cherrington – are Super Bowl champions as their Seattle Seahawks dominated the Denver Broncos, 43-8, in Super Bowl XLVIII on Sunday in Met Life Stadium.

MSU is one of three Southeastern Conference schools to have three representatives on the Seahawks, joining Texas A&M and South Carolina. With the trio’s triumph, a combined 18 Super Bowl rings by 17 different Mississippi State players have been claimed in the program’s history.

Wright earned the start at linebacker and was a catalyst in limiting the NFL’s most prolific offense to a season-low eight points while forcing four turnovers. Wright, who played for MSU from 2007-10, notched seven tackles – five of the solo variety – and one tackle for loss. That output was his highest total since recording nine tackles in week 11 of the regular season against Minnesota.

Wright finished the year as the Seahawks fourth-leading tackler with 89 and that included missing a month with a broken bone in his foot.

As members of the practice squad, both Clark and Cherrington will receive Super Bowl rings as well. At least one former Bulldog has won a ring in three out of the last Super Bowls dating back to the 2010 regular season.

The Seahawks set the tone early, forcing a safety on the opening play from scrimmage and opening a 22-0 lead at halftime.

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 243377511 -
Gray Television, Inc.