2013 WTOK All Scholastic Sports Team Honored

By: Louis Montesi, III
By: Louis Montesi, III

Families, teachers and coaches gathered at the Meridian Holiday Inn as the twelve finest scholar-athletes from East Mississippi and West Alabama were introduced as the 2013 WTOK All Scholastic Sports Team.

East Mississippi Community College football coach Buddy Stephens was the program's guest speaker.

All twelve team members were interviewed by an external, three-member panel, and four were selected to receive academic scholarship money. The four winners were Ben Killen of Union High School, Allison Justus of Lamar, Robert Billups of West Lauderdale and Meridian High School's Me-me Huff.

"I couldn't believe it," said Killen. "I didn't figure I was as impressive as some of these other candidates were, so I was excited, and I was surprised."

"I knew a few of the people that were on the All Scholastic Sports Team, but I didn't know most of them," said Huff. "So it was cool meeting people from other schools that, pretty much, have the same mind set and goals that you have."

2013 WTOK All Scholastic Sports Team

Ben Killen - Union High School
Rachel Varela - The Lamar School
Robert Billups - West Lauderdale High School
Alexis Jones - Demopolis High School
Edie Collins - Sumter Academy
Meredith "Meme" Huff - Meridian High School
Kara Lane Nowell - Nanih Waiya
Dylan Nolan - Russell Christian Academy
Baleigh Booker - Southeast Lauderdale High School
Whitney Neely - Quitman High School
Allison Justus - The Lamar School
Jacob McIlwain - Wayne County High School

WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 206709421 - wtok.com/a?a=206709421
Gray Television, Inc.