Drought Emergency Declaration Lifted in Alabama

By: Chris Whited Email
By: Chris Whited Email

The Alabama Forestry Commission dropped a drought emergency declaration on Friday for 59 counties in the state.

Those counties included Sumter, Marengo, Greene, and Hale counties in west Alabama.

State forestry officials say rain the state has received over the last week has been enough to reduce the threat of wildfires.

All 67 counties in Alabama remain under a fire alert until further notice.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 9548322 - wtok.com/a?a=9548322
Gray Television, Inc.