Disaster Recovery Assistance Deadline Nearing

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Jackson, Miss. Monday is the deadline to register for assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the U.S. Small Business Administration.

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency, FEMA and SBA say that nearly $17.7 million in federal assistance has been approved for residents in 12 Mississippi counties hit by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred April 28 through May 3.

WTVA-TV reports of that, nearly $12.5 million in low-interest disaster loans has been approved by SBA for 197 homeowners, renters and businesses, while almost $5.2 million in FEMA Individual Assistance grants has been approved to help Mississippi disaster survivors recover.

Residents in Itawamba, Jones, Leake, Lee, Lowndes, Madison, Montgomery, Rankin, Simpson, Warren, Wayne and Winston counties may be eligible for FEMA's program.

Visit FEMA.gov or call 800-621-3362 for more information.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 265066271 - wtok.com/a?a=265066271
Gray Television, Inc.