Andres Weakens To Tropical Storm

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

PUERTO VALLARTA, Mexico (AP) -- Forecasters have canceled a tropical storm warning for part of the Mexican coast but are warning people on Baja California to prepare for Tropical Storm Andres.

The U.S. National Hurricane Center ended the warning early Wednesday morning for the coast from Manzanillo to Cabo Corrientes.

Andres was briefly a hurricane Tuesday but is weakening. It's heading back out to sea, but forecasters warned it could brush the southern tip of the peninsula.

At 2 a.m. PDT (5 a.m. EDT, 0900 GMT), the center of the storm was located about 90 miles (145 kilometers) southwest of Cabo Corrientes and 315 miles (505 km) southeast of the tip of Baja California.

It was moving to the northwest about 9 mph (15 kmh) and its winds were about 60 mph (95 kmh).

For the latest on the tropics, visit the WTOK Online Hurricane Center.


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WTOK-TV 815 23rd Ave Meridian, Ms. 39301 Phone: (601) 693-1441
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 49001696