Mississippians ordered to quarantine if traveling to NY, NJ, CT

(Photo by Aaron M. Sprecher/Invision for Lincoln/AP Images)
(Photo by Aaron M. Sprecher/Invision for Lincoln/AP Images)(Aaron M. Sprecher | Aaron M. Sprecher/Invision/AP)
Published: Jun. 30, 2020 at 11:46 AM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

NEW YORK (WLBT) - Mississippians traveling to the northeast will face a 14-day quarantine.

Tuesday, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo added Mississippi to the list of states where travelers must self-quarantine for 14 days.

Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont made a similar announcement, as well as New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy.

Mississippi is one of 16 states included in the travel restriction to these states. The decision was made to limit travel to states where there is a positive COVID-19 test in more than 10 people per 100,000, or a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

Other states included in the restriction are:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

The restriction does not include those passing through the states. Exemptions include: stopping at rest stops for vehicles, buses, and/or trains; or layovers for air travel, bus travel, or train travel. Those traveling for business are also exempt, including truckers or any officials traveling on government business.

Copyright 2020 WLBT. All rights reserved.

Latest News

Latest News