Reeves won’t sign medical marijuana bill until amount is cut in half. Here’s how much is allowed in other states.

One of the first orders of businesses for the 2022 legislative session is expected to be...
One of the first orders of businesses for the 2022 legislative session is expected to be hammering out how the sale of medical marijuana will be implemented in Mississippi.
Published: Dec. 28, 2021 at 10:25 PM CST|Updated: Dec. 29, 2021 at 7:33 AM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

JACKSON, Miss. (WLOX) - Mississippi lawmakers head back to Jackson next week. One of the first orders of businesses for the 2022 legislative session is expected to be hammering out how the sale of medical marijuana will be implemented in Mississippi.

Tuesday, Gov. Tate Reeves indicated the legislators will have some work to do. Taking to social media, Gov. Tate Reeves explained his hesitancy for signing a medical marijuana bill.

“The bill allows any individual to get 3.5 grams of marijuana per day. A simple Google search shows that the average joint has 0.32 grams of marijuana. Therefore, any one individual can get enough weed to smoke 11 joints a day. Every day.... That would be 1.2 billion legal joints sold in Mississippi per year. Call me crazy, but I just think that’s too broad of a starting point,” said Reeves in on Facebook.

Medicinal or Recreational marijuana? That is the question. I’ve repeatedly told the members of the Legislature that...

Posted by Tate Reeves on Tuesday, December 28, 2021

As the bill is currently written, it would allow 3.5 grams per day, or 105 grams per month, which is 3.75 ounces. If it is cut in half like the governor is requesting, that amount would be reduced to 1.75 grams per day, or 52.5 grams in a 30-day period, which would be 1.875 ounces per month.

Most of the 37 states that have medical marijuana programs allow upwards of two ounces a month.

StatesMarijuana Possession Limit
Alabamaup to 70 daily dosages
Alaska1 oz usable, 6 plants (3 mature, 3 immature)
Arizona2.5 oz usable per 14-day period; 12 plants
Arkansas2.5 oz usable per 14-day period
California8 oz usable; 6 mature or 12 immature plants
Colorado2 oz usable; 6 plants (3 mature, 3 immature)
Connecticut2.5 oz usable
Delaware6 oz usable
District of Columbia2 oz dried
Florida35-day supply
Hawaii4 oz usable, 10 plants
Illinois2.5 oz of usable cannabis during a 14-day period
Louisiana1-month supply, amount to be determined
Maine2.5 oz usable, 6 plants
Maryland30-day supply, determined by physician
Massachusetts60-day supply for personal medical use (10 oz)
Michigan2.5 oz usable, 12 plants
Minnesota30-day supply of non-smokable marijuana
Montana1 oz usable; 4 plants (mature); 12 seedlings
Nevada2.5 oz usable; 12 plants
New Hampshire2 oz of usable cannabis during a 10-day period
New Jersey3 oz usable
New Mexico6 oz usable; 16 plants (4 mature, 12 immature)
New York60-day supply non-smokable marijuana
North Dakota3 oz per 14-day period
Ohiomaximum 90-day supply; amount to be determined
Oklahoma3 oz usable, 12 plants (6 mature, 6 immature)
Oregon24 oz usable; 24 plants (6 mature, 18 immature)
Pennslyvania30-day supply
Rhode Island2.5 oz usable; 12 plants
South Dakota3 oz usable; 3 plants
Utah113 grams of unprocessed cannabis
Vermont2 oz usable; 9 plants (2 mature, 7 immature)
Virginia90-day supply of total cannabis products (extracts and botanicals)
Washington8 oz usable; 6 plants
West Virginia30-day supply, amount to be determined

Despite pushback from lawmakers and proponents of the medical marijuana bill, Reeves refused to call a special session this year, saying he wouldn’t agree to a bill that allows for 3.5 grams of marijuana per person per day.

“I hope that legislative leaders will see fit to consider reducing the tremendous amount of weed they seek to make legally accessible so that I can sign their bill and we can put this issue to rest,” said Reeves in his post.

State Regulated Cannabis Programs
State Regulated Cannabis Programs(National Conference of State Legislatures)

State Rep. Lee Yancey has worked to negotiate the bill in the House. He said the 3.5 grams is comparable to the maximum amount in 37 other states where medical marijuana is legal and said the governor is arguing over how that amount is divided.

Yancy believes as the bill stands now it would pass in both chambers and he’s ready to resolve the issue that 74% of Mississippians voted in favor of 2020, saying, “It is compassion to give doctors another tool other than opioids to deal with these severe conditions.”

According to Yancey, the bill needs 60% approval to pass both chambers and if necessary 67% would override a governor’s veto.

The governor raised another concern in his post, saying the bill as it stands now would theoretically allow more than a billion legal joints to be sold in Mississippi each year.

Lawmakers are set to return to Jackson on Jan. 4 to vote on the medical marijuana bill.

Copyright 2021 WLOX. All rights reserved.