Alabama governor closes some state offices

Source: MGN
Source: MGN(WTOK)
Published: Sep. 11, 2017 at 11:16 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Gov. Kay Ivey closed state offices in several Alabama counties due to expected conditions from Irma.

Due to the existing State of Emergency in Alabama, Ivey has directed that all state offices and buildings in the following counties be closed Monday: Barbour, Blount, Bullock, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Coffee, Coosa, Dale, Elmore, Etowah, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lee, Macon, Montgomery, Pike, Randolph, Russell, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa, and any other county hereafter placed under a Tropical Storm Warning by the National Weather Service.

The governor's office said weather conditions are expected to be both extreme and severe and travel in many areas may be restricted.

In all other counties, each state and local agency director is authorized to make closure determinations based on local weather conditions.

Sumter County Schools cancelled classes for Monday and has not made a decision yet about Tuesday.

Updated information on state office closures is available at the governor’s website by clicking the attached link.