Both parties in new Mississippi Senate leadership roles

Source: WLBT

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Mississippi's new Republican lieutenant governor is putting together a bipartisan leadership team in the state Senate.

Delbert Hosemann was inaugurated to the state's second-highest office Thursday and announced Senate committees Friday.

He named Republicans as chairmen of the two money committees, Briggs Hopson of Vicksburg at Appropriations and Josh Harkins of Flowood at Finance.

Hosemann also named Republicans to lead the Education Committee and the two judiciary committees. He chose Democrats as chairmen of the Public Health Committee and the Corrections Committee.

Republican House Speaker Philip Gunn is still working on assigning House members to committees and chairmanships.