Finalists for coach of the year named

Source: MGN

CLINTON, Miss. (WTOK) - The Mississippi Association of Coaches says twelve coaches are finalists for the National High School Athletic Coaches Association national coach of the year honors in their respective sports.

The following Mississippi high school coaches were nominated:
Anthony Jenkins, athletic director, DeSoto County Schools
Larry Watkins, baseball, Petal High School
Gina Skelton, girls’ basketball, Wayne County High School
Tim Sayers, girls’ cross country, Ocean Springs High School
Ricky Black, football, Jackson Preparatory School
Michael Gray, golf, Baldwyn Public Schools
Cecil Hinds, soccer, Madison Central High School
Trae Embry, softball, Neshoba Central High School
Marty Warren, special sports, powerlifting, Pontotoc High School
Bridget Carmody, swimming & diving, Madison Central High School
Heath Dudley, girls' track & field, Southaven High School
Mike Meyers, volleyball, Our Lady Academy

The selection for finalists was based on longevity, service to high school athletics, honors, championship years and winning percentage.

The nominees and finalists were evaluated by experts in the field of coaching using a sport-specific formula to assign points in each category.

The National Coach of the Year Awards Banquet will be held in July in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.