Head of the Class awards given out Friday

By  | 

LAUDERDALE CO., Miss. (WTOK) - The East Mississippi Business Development Corporation recognized two students from each high school across Lauderdale County with the Head of the Class Awards. Alex Smith and Maggie Freeman were the recipients at Clarkdale High School.

“I am surprised,” Smith says. “I didn’t think I would get this and I didn’t know this was happening, so I’m happy and surprised.”

“It’s really exciting and I’m really proud to have received this award because I’m really proud of my grades and I work pretty hard,” Freeman says.

Two awards were given, one for the highest performing student, and one for the most improved student. Jay Youngblood and Trevon Fuller were the recipients at Northeast Lauderdale High School.
“It’s very special to me, I really enjoy this class every day, and I don’t mind going to class,” Youngblood says. “I’ve learned so many wonderful things taking the class, things I’ll use throughout my whole life, and it’s just a really great experience.”

“To receive this award, I am very happy, and honored,” Fuller says. “I was surprised at first because I didn’t expect this.”

Kayla Carter and Aja Revels, the winners at Southeast Lauderdale High School, are taking their CTE classes to help advance their future careers.
“[I plan to go into the] health field,” Carter says. “[I’m] trying to see what I want to do for the rest of my life and try to explore different options.”

“I want to go to be a dermatologist and I thought this class will help me go into the medical career,” Revels says.

Olivia Gray and Kennedy Grayson earned the honors at West Lauderdale High School.
“It means a lot,” Gray says. “I was not expecting it at all and it means a lot to me that they would pick me for an award like this.”

“It’s kind of exciting to get it because it’s kind of an achievement that I was able to get this,” Grayson says. “And that it’s such a big deal for this class because some people would like to do a career in this field.”

The EMBDC will be recognizing the Head of the Class award recipients at Ross Collins Career and Technical Center on Monday.