Mississippi inaugurates 7 of 8 statewide officials

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Mississippi's new lieutenant governor says he wants to work with all legislators on education and other big issues facing the state.

Republican Delbert Hosemann was one of the seven statewide elected officials inaugurated Thursday. All are Republican.

Lynn Fitch becomes the first woman to serve as Mississippi attorney general. Michael Watson is the new secretary of state. David McRae is the new treasurer.

Auditor Shad White and Agriculture Commissioner Andy Gipson were appointed last term, and each begins a full four years in office.

Insurance Commissioner Mike Chaney starts his fourth term. Republican Tate Reeves will be inaugurated as governor on Tuesday.