Mississippi voters choose Senators, House members

Source: MGN

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - There are two elections for United States Senate in Mississippi this year.
Polls are open till 7 p.m.

The winner of the regular election gets a six-year term. Republican Sen. Roger Wicker faces Democrat David Baria and two other candidates.

There is a special election to fill the final two years of the seat that was held by Sen. Thad Cochran, who resigned in April. Republican Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith was appointed to serve temporarily until the election. She's being challenged by Democrats Tobey Bernard Bartee and Mike Espy and Republican state Sen. Chris McDaniel.

If no one wins a majority, there will be a runoff Nov. 27.

Voters are also choosing four U.S. Representatives. The 3rd District will get a new member. Republican District Attorney Michael Guest faces Democrat Michael Ted Evans and Reform Party candidate Matthew Holland. Republican Cong. Steven Palazzo of Mississippi's 4th congressional district faces a challenge by Democrat Jeramey Anderson and Reform Party candidate Lajena Sheets.