Republicans assigned to most top jobs in Mississippi House

Photo source: WAPT-TV

JACKSON, Miss. - Republicans will continue holding most leadership positions during this four-year term in the Mississippi House, but Democrats and independents are included in the mix.

Y'all Politics pointed out that there are 44 Democrats in the House, or approximately 36%, and nearly that same percentage were named to leadership positions.

Republican Speaker Philip Gunn announced the House Committees this week.

Democrats will serve as vice chairmen on 17 of the 46 House Committees, with 1 Democrat named as a chairman in the House. Rep. Cedric Burnett is the lone Democrat chairman. He will lead the House Youth and Family Affairs Committee.

Two independents were given chairmanships, as well.

Rep. Angela Cockerham will chair Judiciary A with longtime Democratic Rep. Tommy Reynolds as the vice chairman.

New Independent Rep. Kevin Horan will be tested immediately as the chairman of Corrections. He will be joined by Democrat Rep. Carl Mickens as vice chair.

All committee chairmen, except for two, have served more than two terms. Republican Rep. Fred Shanks will lead the Constitution Committee after winning a special election in 2018. Rep. Burnett is now in his second term.

Below is a list of the Democrats named to Mississippi House Committee leadership:

Bryant Clark (HD 47) – Vice Chair, Conservation and Water Resources
Carl Mickens (HD 42) – Vice Chair, Corrections
Cheikh Taylor (HD 38) – Vice Chair, County Affairs
Percy Watson (HD 103) – Vice Chair, Ethics
John Faulkner (HD 5) – Vice Chair, Enrolled Bills
Chris Bell (HD 65) – Vice Chair, Executive Contingent Fund
Willie Bailey (HD 49) – Vice Chair, Gaming
Tracey Rosebud (HD 30) – Vice Chair, Interstate Cooperation
Lataisha Jackson (HD 11) – Vice Chair, Investigate State Offices
Tommy Reynolds (HD 33) – Vice Chair, Judiciary A
Karl Gibbs (HD 36) – Vice Chair, Local and Private Legislation
Abe Hudson (HD 29) – Vice Chair, Ports, Harbors and Airports
Gregory Holloway (HD 76) – Vice Chair, Public Property
Rufus Straughter (HD 51) – Vice Chair, State Library
Debra Gibbs (HD 72) – Vice Chair, Tourism
Kenneth Walker (HD 27) – Vice Chair, Workforce Development
Cedric Burnett (HD 9) – Chair, Youth and Family Affairs
Otis Anthony (HD 31) – Vice Chair, Youth and Family Affairs