Shelby, Wicker receive key chairmanships

Source: MGN

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WTOK) - The Senate Republican Conference ratified committee chairmen for the new 116th Congress Wednesday.

Alabama Sen. Richard Shelby was chosen to continue as chairman of the powerful Senate Appropriations Committee. He became chairman in 2018 when Thad Cochran resigned Apr. 1.

The Senate is expected to formally affirm Senate committee chairmen and rosters in an organizational resolution.

In addition to serving as chairman of the Appropriations Committee, Shelby will continue to serve on the Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs; the Committee on Environment and Public Works; and the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Mississippi Sen. Roger Wicker is serving in a new role as chairman of the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation. He says it will give him a new way to support Mississippi’s interests at the national level:

“The chairmanship is a great responsibility given the committee’s broad jurisdiction across diverse sectors of our economy," said Wicker.

Wicker will have authority over legislation that will impact Mississippi’s future economic prosperity and safety, including proposals to upgrade transportation networks, expand high-speed internet and communications service to rural areas, protect consumer data and privacy, improve fisheries and oceans management on the Gulf Coast, advance science, technology, and engineering research in our state’s universities and at NASA and NOAA and enhance our national security through continued support for the Coast Guard.