Area standouts named to prep all-star football rosters; Breland, Schoolar named coaches

(Source: Mississippi Association of Coaches)
By  | 

MISSISSIPPI Rosters for December’s 33rd annual Mississippi-Alabama All-Star Football Game and 75th annual Bernard Blackwell North-South All-Star Football Game were announced Wednesday morning with plenty of area players representing both.

The Mississippi-Alabama game will feature senior players from both states chosen by all-star coaches and members of the Mississippi Association of Coaches.

Local players selected to play for the Mississippi team include Philadelphia wide receiver Lideatrick "Tulu" Griffin and Wayne County defensive lineman Armondous Cooley. Both are committed to Mississippi State.

Union coach Brad Breland was chosen as head coach for the Mississippi team for the Mississippi-Alabama All-Star Football Game.

Breland, who's currently in his ninth season as head coach of Union, led the Yellowjackets to two Region Championships in 2011 and 2012.

Neshoba Central head coach Patrick Schoolar will be Mississippi’s offensive line coach for the all-star game. He led the Rockets to a 10-3 record last season before losing in the first round of 5A playoffs.

Numerous local players headline The Bernard Blackwell game, which will feature senior players from north and south Mississippi.

North players include Bryandrea Shumaker (ATH - Louisville), Tylan Glass (ATH - Nanih Waiya), Kristian Hopkins ( LB - Louisville), Shia Moore (LB - Nanih Waiya) and Bryce Parkerson (OL - Neshoba Central)

South players include Asher Morgan (QB - Philadelphia) and Cristopher Walley (DL - Wayne County).

The Mississippi-Alabama All-Star Game will be held at noon on Dec. 14 at the University of Southern Mississippi’s M.M. Roberts Stadium in Hattiesburg.

The Bernard Blackwell North-South All-Star Game will be played at 11:30 a.m on Saturday, Dec. 21 at Gulfport High School’s Milner Stadium.